#162

July 16, 2013 § 85 Comments

So are you, like,
super religious,
with all this?”
he flicked
his wrist
at the silver cross
crossing
my collarbone
but implied
with his eyes
more
than the metal resting
in the crevice
of my throat

“I don’t
wear a cape”
I answered, smiling,
providing
an escape
he didn’t take.

You know what I mean.

Do I?
What does “super religious”
looks like?

Because, I
sometimes
am a Cliff Note Christian
thinking
someone else’s summaries
are sufficient
to get the gist

Because, I
sometimes
am a brimstone Christian
thinking
its “good enough”
to be
“good enough”
to escape the flames

Because I
sometimes
am a sawdust Christian
quick to pick
at the bits
in the eyes of others
and blind to mine

But if you’re asking
if I punctuate in colons,
echoing sentiments
name – colon – number
or if I beat out rhythms
in thumb prints on the cover
of my Bible
or if I spout off “tsks”
from the lists
of all the things
my “super religion”
doesn’t permit –
no.

This is not a “Can’t
because I’m Christian
kind of super
religion.
This chain is not indicative of
captivity.

I may be a “Don’t”
or a “Won’t” Christian
(there’s a difference
of intention –
just the way I choose each day
to wrap
these silver symbols over skin)
but that’s the “super” thing
about religion –
from beneath the stacks
of unopened devotions
and amid the sawdust mist
and Cliffs un-noted
I arise each morning knowing
I want more
from the twisting of this orbit
and wake up face to face
with equal parts free will,
and grace.

But if “super religious”
means I need
an extra-strength
prescription faith
or if it means it takes
something superpower strong
to hold together
all I weave
well-intentioned, yet
always flawed
then super religious?  Yes –
Thank God.


					
Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 85 Responses to #162

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading #162 at Authored Angioplasty.

meta

