#150

March 26, 2012 § 13 Comments

The illogic of
the agnostic:

he hits the ground
screaming
to know if You’re true
raising arms
pleading –
for an answer from You

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to #150

  • michael says:

    Hmm. Not entirely certain what you’re saying, but that’s not a bad thing (poems that make you think are almost always entire good things!)… Maybe it’s just my own lifeview.

    • Hi Michael. Your feeling seems to be a common theme — this is why blogs are so useful. Lets me know to file this one under “rewrite”! 🙂 My thought behind it is that asking God for an answer implies belief in God’s existence (though not necessarily belief that He will answer…). I have to really try (and often fail!) not to belabor my pieces or “overwrite” them – but in this case, I may need another stanza to explain. Thank you for your feedback!

      • michael says:

        Oh dear. I understand now, I’d read the poem in different ways before but I just wasn’t sure what your original intentions were. (Although, great poetry does inspire multiple interpretations!)

        In that light, I’m not sure I would change anything. Although, perhaps, changing ‘hit’ to ‘hitting’ might create a better sense that you’re not speaking directly to the reader (some may read the word as an imperative, perhaps an accusation?), but rather about a group (which the reader may or may not belong to.)

        It’s a good poem.

      • You’re so right – good point! I made an update to clarify.

  • It’s interesting because I see agnosticism about God (okay I still spell him/her/it with a capital – I see the irony) as very logical since there is no hard and fast evidence to base belief in a deity on, i.e. we are “without knowledge” and must rely on faith. Good thoughtful and thought provoking poem.

  • I don’t see any problem with this poem. It’s a small, humorous play on logic that sheds light on the religious dilemma, it unpacks nicely from the play on words in the opening stanza. I think an added stanza spelling things out could ruin this.

  • asoulwalker says:

    We are all waiting for your next piece.

    • Me too! Gotta hate writer’s block. I have some vague poetic thoughts floating around, but nothing is surviving the journey to paper just yet. 😦 It’s that uncomfortable have-to-sneeze-and-can’t feeling, you know?

  • Jennifer Murphy says:

    I like this very much. Faith, for me, has very little to do with any kind of deity, all one can do is ask questions of oneself. Experience and life will teach you many things, but sometimes, there are questions to which you will find no answers, it is at those times you have to believe in yourself and not fall at the feet of clay. To clarify, I would consider my opinion to be that of an agnostic atheist 🙂

  • nickflight says:

    love this poem. its near perfect. snappy and sweet. rhythm and rhyme.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading #150 at Authored Angioplasty.

meta

