#135

December 1, 2011 § 5 Comments

Diaphragmatic. Breathe
deeply. Paradigmatic
for preventing chest constriction –
you’re a stress asthmatic. Alone never
symptomatic – but add people to your prescription
and allergies are automatic.
Exhale air,
hemorrhagic
but you just gasp
It zaps
at you like static in these vastly
achromatic halls lined
with bulbs too bright
still too theatric,
refracting back the faces
hazy in your eyes
you’re astigmatic –
blurred vision as a side
effect, affects how hard
it is to hold
those acrobatic poses
that it takes to play
this slapstick show. Peer
into the hat that’s holding bunnies
and nothing’s
enigmatic anymore.
Grasp instead for feet
full of talismanic luck – but
amulets do little
for reactions that are psycho-
somatic
Seek remedy
from your alchemist
just a few
synaptic
seconds.
Scars
a temporary manic
high, one last deep breath
before the dive
Ruptured
magic
Delightfully
tragic

Tagged: ,

§ 5 Responses to #135

  • Wow can you write!
    “Peer into the hat that’s holding bunnies and nothing’s enigmatic any more” I absolutely love this metaphor.

    • Thanks for the comment on this. I always find it a little funny to see how people react to pieces… this one is one of my favorites, but it didn’t seem to hit well with readers! Typically it is the ones I almost don’t post that end up being the biggest hits. Never can tell. But your feedback is especially important to me on this one. Thank you again! 🙂

  • Nel says:

    I love this piece. It made me think of running, yoga, and the person whose bugging me at work in a matter of a few lines.

    Nicely done, AA.

  • C. Guidry says:

    Oh I love your assonance, in this and in #136. Sounds like you have a good ear too 🙂 I’m not sure I understood all of this, but I think it’s wonderful! 🙂

    In Christ,
    Caroline

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading #135 at Authored Angioplasty.

meta

