#76

June 7, 2011 § Leave a comment

Have you ever seen those collages?
The ones
Of daily photos –
The kind
Where you stand in one space each day
With one face
For photographic evidence of change

I wish
That I had done this for you
I wish
You could see what I have seen of you
Because I
Have watched you grow up from the side
And I wish you could see
How lovely you are from here

I sit
Beside you to watch your hands
I sit
Beside you to listen for notes
But I
Have inadvertently played a witness
To your adolescence
From the side

I can’t call it nostalgia –
And I can’t call it pride
But I’m honored to have played a part in it
From my view here on the side

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading #76 at Authored Angioplasty.

meta

