#53

March 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

“And those names you would like to mention now”

but I don’t.

I can say the word and this world will pray

but I don’t.

Because we pray “thy will be done”
And I don’t like Thy Will.

My will couldn’t keep the stars in line or the world turning
Wouldn’t keep kingdoms in tact or castles from burning
Wouldn’t orchestrate weather or defend aging nations
Couldn’t defend or protect or defy expectations

My will is inadequate, short-sighted and blind
Lacking in wisdom and painfully confined
I wouldn’t want the world to spend moment in my palm
But my will would have kept her here, and that would be enough for now.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading #53 at Authored Angioplasty.

meta

