#15

November 2, 2010 § 1 Comment

Today everything smelled like you
But my heart hurt at how little I remembered
Every inhale was like a fabric scrap
Jagged pieces I was seaming together
Foggy images of standing alone
In the edge of your cluttered dark hallway
Wanting to sit and talk with you
But too shy to know what to say
Watching movies late at night,
On the couch between him and you
At the time, that felt like enough to me
Giving away time that I couldn’t see through
I remember the sharp tint of your eyes
And how your chin always sank to your chest
And I remember the love and tears on the face
Of the man you truly had blessed
I remember your voice, the squaky tones
And how you laughed like nothing I’d heard
But these fuzzy images only add to my grief
How I wish I could remember your words
I envy the man who can still see your face
With clarity through the lens of time shared
And would gladly accept the accompanying pain
For memories unfazed by time’s wear

Tagged:

§ One Response to #15

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading #15 at Authored Angioplasty.

meta

